Day 47, “Sir, listen to this …”

Marcie is reading the “narcolepsy” entry from The Merck Manual of Diagnosis. Do you remember when she tried to help Peppermint Patty solve her problem with excessive sleepiness? Yeah, I don’t either. But I read about it on Wikipedia, so it must be true. Apparently, Patty kept falling asleep in class. She eventually went to a sleep disorders treatment center to be tested for narcolepsy, but it turns out that she was staying up too late at night. Maybe she just couldn’t get Chuck out of her mind. This photo was assigned to me by my niece Jessica. It was taken in Rice Park in downtown St. Paul.

4 thoughts on “Day 47, “Sir, listen to this …”

  1. I love this!

    I have no memory of the strip that supposedly inspired it, though (I mean, specifically. Of course I remember Peanuts).

    You should make it a multi-day assignment to get all of the Peanuts sculptures that are still standing in public. There’s one by my vet (Como Park Animal Hospital) to get you started. I think there might still be one near Key’s, too.

  2. Thanks, Janelle!

    Oh, man … that’s a LOT of Peanuts statues! I will try to shoot them when I see them, though. They really are great.

  3. I had no idea there were peanut statues in St. Paul. I think the kids and I are going to have to visit there some day to see them.

    I love this picture!

  4. Thanks, Colette!

    It all started in 2000 with Snoopy, then Charlie Brown in 2001, and then Lucy and Linus in 2002 and 2003. Several of them are still around the city. Bring the kids up this summer! That would be so fun.

Leave a Reply

