Day 63, oak tree

63 | 365

I ordered a new lens last week: a 50mm f/1.4. It was scheduled to arrive today at my office. I waited. And waited. And then waited some more. When the UPS driver hadn’t shown up by long after his usual time, I tracked the order. Crap. I had selected my office’s old address as the shipping address. Crap!

Three phone calls to B&H and two phone calls to UPS later, I was resigned to the fact that I would not be getting my new lens today. So I went home and shot the shot I was planning to shoot with that new lens … with the only lens I have in my bag right now: a 28-135mm kit lens.

Crap. It turned out dang nice.

5 thoughts on “Day 63, oak tree

  1. I ordered the same lens a couple of weeks ago (wait maybe mine is a 1.8?). It arrived last week and I have to say, I’ve never used a prime lens and it’s very interesting. Takes much better pictures of my food and indoor people!

    Love the perspective on the picture, very very cool!

  2. Thanks, Colette. I’m glad you like this one.

    I ordered the 50mm because I really miss shooting with a prime. That’s what I used primarily with my K-1000, and I got such great results with it. I’m going to re-shoot this image when I get the lens, and I’ll post the two together to show the difference.

  3. Oh! And an update. It looks like my lens has been rescheduled to arrive today … at the corrected address. (Thanks third UPS Customer Service person I spoke with yesterday!)

    Keeping my fingers crossed.

  4. lol it’s beautiful, how many times can you use the word crap in one posting? i love it!

Leave a Reply

