French Friday ~ gougères

Gougeres

I joined an online cooking group, French Fridays With Dorie. We’re cooking our way through Dorie Greenspan‘s newest book, Around My French Table.

The first recipe on our adventure is for gougères, wonderful cheese puffs made from a choux paste, or pâte à choux, the same dough used for cream puffs. The recipe calls for either gruyère or cheddar, and I used Gruyère. Now, I’ve baked gougères several times before, but none were as good as these. They are the lightest and most tender of any I’ve tried. Everyone loved them: Jim, the boys, and my sister Michelle. I have a feeling we’ll be making them again this weekend. (Andrea and Marlo, you’ll love them, too!)

As I was getting ready to head out the door for Gus’s football game (two more touchdowns!), I noticed two last gougères on the plate and tossed them into a bag and into my purse. Even cold and deflated, they were incredible.

Next Week: Gerard’s mustard tart.

7 thoughts on “French Friday ~ gougères

  1. They look delicious and I love them on your vintage dish! Isn’t it great that they can be frozen and popped into the oven when you need them?

  2. Hi Ann, I somehow found myself on your blog and probably visited it about 10 times before eventually reading your ‘about’ page and realizing “holy crap, I know her!” small world. I love your photos. I have always wanted to do a 365 day photo project but 365 days always seems like sooooo mannnnnyy. Anyway, hello!

  3. Thanks, Jayne and Elaine! I can’t wait to make that tart for next week!

    Nathalie!! How ARE you? I didn’t realize you had gotten married. Congratulations! Thanks so much for stopping by, and thanks for the compliment. I have to tell you, this 365 project has been a lot of fun. Take care! (I just bookmarked your blog, and I’ll check it out later today.) (And I’ll have to call your mom one of these days. I haven’t talked to her in, like, forever.)

  4. I will call her! And you were a beautiful bride, Nathalie! What a gorgeous dress (and your mom’s too!). Can’t wait to see you start your project. And don’t put too much pressure on yourself. The point is to shoot every day, not necessarily post every day. (I’ve got some OCD tendencies, so I post something every day. LOL.)

Leave a Reply

