French Friday ~ pumpkin-gorgonzola flans

APN-7145

I do not like squash, so it’s not surprising that I didn’t care for a savory pumpkin dish. Especially one made with Gorgonzola. But I went against my better judgment and made them anyway. That’s okay, though! It was still fun trying something new, and they were fun to photograph.

Ramekins

APN-7103
APN-7104APN-7105

APN-7130
APN-7134
APN-7143
APN-7144

These flans were incredibly easy to make. So if you like pumpkin and Gorgonzola, give them a try. The recipe can be found in Dorie Greenspan’s Around My French Table.

Next week: potato gratin
Last week: caramel-topped semolina c1ake

22 thoughts on “French Friday ~ pumpkin-gorgonzola flans

  1. Wow they do look good! I wish I had pictures like that! I made the flan too but with some sweet potatoes instead of pumpkin!

  2. Thank you, Beth! You are too kind! You know, I shoot food primarily with my 50mm lens. It’s my favorite. And I try to shoot during the day … before my kitchen gets dark. (It was already pretty dark when I made these flans, so that 50mm lens came in handy!) And I really try to get in as close as I can. When I think I’m close enough, I get a little closer! Thanks again!

  3. Anne Marie and FNO: I’m glad to hear that I wasn’t the only one who didn’t like these, even if they are pretty.

    Flourchild: You are a genius. I don’t know why I didn’t think of sweet potatoes! I love them! Thanks for the tip!

  4. I enjoy squash, but usually sweetened with brown sugar, maple syrup, or something. And with spices like I would use for pumpkin pie. I thought this dish was beautiful, but there was something lacking. I went to 3 markets before I found the Gorgonzola cheese, dug out my pretty remekins, etc…for all the effort and for their good looks, these flans did not meet expectations.

  5. i absolutely love pumpkin and gorgonzola, but these fell flat for me as well. not enough gorgonzola! i love that first photo!

  6. Don’t you wish they tasted as good as they look? I made these twice and even though I kept thinking they were growing on me, I figured out they didn’t.
    However, your pictures are GORGEOUS!!!! I like your playful style.

  7. Love your blender pictures! Did you use flash on these since you were losing light? I’m pulling out my 50mm and seeing what I can do!

  8. No, Steph, I didn’t use a flash. I think I shot them at an ISO of about 400, though. Let me know how it goes with your 50mm!

  9. Thanks, Betty. My mom thought the honey made all the difference. We made hers with only a dab of bleu cheese (you can tell which is hers in the photos above).

  10. I did not expect to like these flans, but I did! My whole family liked them, which surprised me. Gorgonzola was not too overpowering, and the portions were just small enough for all of us to have several bites.

    I like to try new things, and I applaud you on your courage:)

    The photos are gorgeous. Now I want a 50mm lens…

  11. Thanks, Lana! I’m so glad your family liked the flans. And you’re right … I’m very lucky that mine likes to try new things. They always have!

  12. Fantastic photos and thanks for the tips! I’m going to try these on Wednesday. I’m curious to see which side of the fence I fall on.

  13. Your photos are beautiful! I like squash, but I like it roasted with lots of salt and olive till the edges are browned and crunch just a bit. Canned pumpkin didn’t do for me. But I also found it fun to make and photograph.

Leave a Reply

