Day 326, homemade red velvet

{326/365} red velvet cake

This recipe just doesn’t compare to the Kowalski’s red velvet cake we had for Gus’s birthday. I blame it on the oil. I prefer cake layers made with butter. Nathalie from 120 Water Street is going to send a red velvet cake recipe that calls for butter and sour cream. I can’t wait to try that one. (Thanks, Nathalie!)

Every time I hear about red velvet cake, I think of Steel Magnolias and Aunt Fern’s dreadful red velvet armadillo cake.

I love every character in that movie, but Clairee, played by Olympia Dukakis, is my favorite. “Well, you know what they say: if you don’t have anything nice to say about anybody, come sit by me!”

Leave a Reply

