French Friday ~ my go-to beef daube

APN-8012

Chuck roast + brandy + red wine = ♥

I think I’ve only made stew one or two other times in my life. But if I’d had the recipe for beef daube earlier, I’m pretty sure I would have made stew much more often.

APN-7996

When I first started making my way through Dorie Greenspan’s latest book, Around My French Table, it struck me how basic and simple French home cooking is. And then as I thought about it more, it didn’t surprise me at all. It makes perfect sense. I mean, how often do home cooks in any part of the world prepare meals as complex as those turned out by the best chefs in their regions?

APN-8074

And how often do those same chefs prepare complicated meals at home?

As a matter of fact, I’ll bet more than one French chef will be sitting down to a simple dinner of beef daube tonight.

Next week: spiced butter-glazed carrots.
Last week: sweet and spicy cocktail nuts.

20 thoughts on “French Friday ~ my go-to beef daube

  1. I completely agree. It’s like each recipe is a celebration of the ingredients. I’m actually starting to feel like a real cook doing this. Not just a baker who sometimes bakes dinner. 🙂

  2. Beautiful! It’s 72 degrees in Houston today–I’m waiting for the temps to drop before try the stew, but the resistance is getting harder…

  3. Thanks, t.t. You’re right … 72 is a little warm for stew. But don’t wait much longer. It’s wonderful!

  4. You’ve inspired me! This is my next-up recipe. I picked up my ingredients today, and it’s on the menu for tomorrow. I can’t wait. Yours looks fantastic.

  5. Your photos are so beautiful and so is your stew! The beef daube is next on my list. All the ingredients are here in my house and we’re expecting a whopper of a snowstorm in MN this weekend. It’s the perfect project!

  6. Looks so good! And you’re right…Dorie’s recipes are a celebration of the ingredients, rather than fussy techniques!

  7. I made this one yesterday (although, I never got to try it). Looks absolutely lovely – and the parsley on top adds a fresh visual appeal. Simple food is truly the best, isn’t it?

  8. Thanks, Anne-Marie! I can’t even begin to tell how my 365 Project has helped increased my photography skills … and I’ve had so much fun doing it.

  9. It’s so true. Her book really does celebrate good home cooking, doesn’t it? (Just read your tip on persimmons. I had no idea!)

  10. Thanks, ECL! I’m just now starting to check in on everyone’s recipes from Friday. It’s become one of the highlights of my weekends. Can’t wait to see what you made!

  11. I’m noticing that a lot of foods & ingredients are comforting type things … potatoes, yummy carrots … things like your stew. Job well done!

Leave a Reply

