French Friday ~ spiced butter-glazed carrots

Spiced Butter-Glazed Carrots

We were snowed-in this weekend, and I was lucky enough to already have on hand the ingredients for these carrots. Yay for planning! (Not usually my strong suit.)

The snow had stopped by Sunday, but the blowing! Just look at the hill outside my kitchen door:

blizzard

That wind just kept right on blowing long after the snow stopped.

So. The carrots.

Spiced Butter-Glazed Carrots

I don’t normally like cooked carrots. If they still have some firmness to them, they’re okay. But I am much more of a parsnip girl.

Spiced Butter-Glazed Carrots

Now, onions, garlic, and ginger I like. A lot. And the buttery, ginger-infused cooking liquid reduces down to a beautiful and delicious glaze.

Spiced Butter-Glazed Carrots

But, for me, the carrots are too soft by the time the liquid reduces enough to be a glaze. I did love that glaze, though!

Spiced Butter-Glazed Carrots

Someone (I forget who) suggested that I try the recipe again, but this time remove the carrots from the pan when they reach the texture I like, and then toss them with the finished glaze.

What an excellent idea!

Next week: leek and potato soup.
Last week: my go-to beef daube.

3 thoughts on “French Friday ~ spiced butter-glazed carrots

Leave a Reply

