French Friday ~ gnocchi à la parisienne

gnocchi à la parisienne

There are four eggs in the pâte à choux for this gnocchi.

Yes, you read that right. You use cream puff dough to make Pariesienne gnocchi. And, of course, béchamel sauce and melted cheese.

Other than, “Oh, man,” here is what I was basically thinking when I first read this recipe:

“Turn the page. Just skip this French Friday. Don’t even read the whole thing. Move on. There’s nothing to see here. I mean, cream puff dough, béchamel, and Gruyère cheese? The holidays just ended, for Pete’s sake. Haven’t you had enough? In the name of all that is good and holy, don’t do it!

But I had to try it.

If you really think about it, it’s not all that different from macaroni and cheese.

gnocchi à la parisienne

Besides, it gave me a good excuse to try out one of my Christmas gifts from Jim: a rounded-bottom saucier. I used it to make the dough and the béchamel for this dish.

And I love to make this particular dough and this sauce. They are so easy, delicious, and versatile. How could I not want to make a dish that calls for both?

gnocchi à la parisienne
gnocchi à la parisienne
gnocchi à la parisienne
gnocchi à la parisienne
gnocchi à la parisienne
gnocchi à la parisienne

If you’ve never made cream puff dough, you really should. The possibilities for it seem almost endless: cream puffs, éclairs, zeppole, profiteroles, gougères, and, as it turns out, gnocchi.

Here, you have the option of resting the dough for up to two hours. I let it rest for about an hour, and then continued on to make the béchamel, grate the cheese, and make the gnocchi. All of the steps were simple, but it was time consuming.

gnocchi à la parisienne
gnocchi à la parisienne
gnocchi à la parisienne
gnocchi à la parisienne
gnocchi à la parisienne
gnocchi à la parisienne
gnocchi à la parisienne

Why is it so challenging to photograph saucy, cheesy, white food when it’s so damned easy to eat it?

And trust me, this was easy to eat. I loved its silky creaminess. It’s really too bad that neither of the boys would eat more than a few bites of it. I’m sure next week will be a different story.

In two weeks: chicken b’stilla.
Next week: michel rostang’s double chocolate mousse cake (skipped).
Last week: parish mushroom soup.

17 thoughts on “French Friday ~ gnocchi à la parisienne

  1. Lovely pics!

    As a maker of only potato-type gnocchi before this FFwD, I was intrigued by the cream puff dough approach too! Very rich but good! 🙂

  2. Great photos, beautiful lighting! I agree it is a time-consuming dish and I didn’t even get a smooth bechamel sauce. Good job on your sauce!

  3. I have to say (even though everyone else has too)…your photos are just amazing this week! Really beautiful light and wonderful composition. Nice work. (Your new saucier is gorgeous!). Hope you got to eat all the leftovers too!

  4. You had me at your saucier! I have one too, and it’s a favorite!! Your photos are amazing, and your dish looks so much better than mine. I don’t know if I’ll make up the remainder of the “gnocchi” in my freezer the same way – I also used some of the dough to make bake some puffs – I might just do that! However, yours looks so good, I may just try again.

  5. Mmmmmm, your gnocchi looks fantastic…I think you managed to get some great photos! 🙂 Yum!

  6. napangel…thanks for your feedback on my blog. your pictures are absolutely beautiful. i love all your prep pictures. i have a lot of trouble with those for some reason so i only end up with my finished recipe pic. you’re an inspiration to me! i will be sure to check your blog frequently.

    fyi…i saw your link to flickr and added you as a contact. my flickr id is thsntht for my non-cooking pics. i just started my 365 journey. wish me luck. congratulations on finishing yours!

  7. Thanks everyone for visiting and for your wonderful comments! I really do enjoy visiting everyone’s sites on Fridays and over the weekends. This is such a wonderful journey to share with others, isn’t it?

  8. Thanks, Mollie! I added you as a contact on Flicker too. Love your photos … great candid portraits! And I love the photos of your dogs.

Leave a Reply

