French Friday ~ orange-almond tart

orange-almond tart

This tart is my new favorite recipe from Around My French Table, Dorie Greenspan‘s newest book. (If  you’re new to this site, I’m cooking my way through AMFT with a group of cooks over at French Fridays With Dorie.)

orange-almond tart
orange-almond tart

I had never made a tart with almond pastry cream. And you know what? It is the real star of this tart.

orange-almond tart

As a matter of fact, if you made this tart with only the pastry cream and no oranges, no one would complain.

orange-almond tart
orange-almond tart
orange-almond tart
orange-almond tart

But the oranges are beautiful and add a wonderful, subtle bitterness after they’ve been baked.

Yes, this is my new favorite.

Next week: pancetta green beans
Last week: basque potato tortilla

3 thoughts on “French Friday ~ orange-almond tart

  1. If you wrote a cookbook i would buy it just for the pictures. ANd then I would probably cut them out, and frame them.

  2. Thank you, Nathalie! And if I wrote a cookbook, I’d send you prints of all the photos in it. On the house.

Leave a Reply

