French Friday ~ quinoa, fruit, and nut salad

quinoa, fruit, and nut salad

Wow. I can’t believe how long it’s been since I’ve posted (about a month and a half)! And it’s been almost just as long since I’ve cooked or baked something from Around My French Table.

And I’m afraid I haven’t been shooting much lately, either. Jim, the boys, and I took a road trip to Florida in March to visit family, and I didn’t even shoot much while I was there. I’m feeling out of touch with my camera … like I’ve lost my groove.

As far as French Fridays are concerned, this salad was all it took to get inspired and get back to cooking out of that awesome book.

quinoa, fruit, and nut salad
quinoa, fruit, and nut salad
quinoa, fruit, and nut salad

This salad is easy and delicious. All of the flavors and textures are wonderful. My choice of fruits and nuts were dried apricots, raisins, golden raisin, pepitas, sunflower nuts, and almonds. My herb of choice was cilantro, and its pop really rounded out the salad perfectly.

Now, off to get back in the photography groove.

26 thoughts on “French Friday ~ quinoa, fruit, and nut salad

  1. Oh my does this look amazing! Who knew quinoa was part of french cooking?

    I have been in the same boat posting wise, I think it’s the anticipation of the overhaul on my site that is blocking me. So much to say but so much going on in life. Thanks for sharing the awesome pictures, I’m definitely going to be making this salad.

  2. Welcome back! How wonderful that you were able to take some time to visit family, but I’m sorry to hear that you have been away from your camera for awhile. FFwD is a good way to get you back in the groove. πŸ™‚ Good choice to add the cilantro! Your salad looks great!

  3. Welcome back! You and your pretty pictures have been missed! Good choice to return for this salad as it was so easy and tasty. I used mint/parsley but as I ate it knew that cilantro would make an appearance here eventually. Great job!

  4. Mmmm I hope you’re photographer’s block is lifted soon. You’re quinoa salad photos are gorgeous and I bet we’ll all enjoy your next series.

  5. I chose cilantro too, paired with fresh mango, dried cranberries and pistachios. Love your photos! Hope you find inspiration soon πŸ™‚

  6. These photos are gorgeous. Should provide inspiration about taking more shots to not only you – but anyone that reads this too ! So glad you liked the recipe. We had fun with it too (ok, one of us did…..:) I will be revisiting this recipe and trying different variations in the future…now that I know what quinoa is !

  7. I don’t think I’ve visited your blog before, and I love the bit I’ve been able to check out. I’m glad you are getting back into the swing of things; your quinoa looks super tasty!

  8. Welcome back! Your photos are gorgeous. Coincidentally, I picked exactly the same combination of nuts, fruit, and herb for my salad. Nice choices!

  9. It’s really hard to stay inspired, isn’t it, Colette? By the way, I love your new blog design! What a great, inviting color.

  10. Thank you, Elaine! You’re right … FFwD is a great inspiration. (And I just checked out your quinoa salad. SO beautiful!)

  11. I think the best way is to just keep shooting. Even if we hate what we shoot, we’ll get our grooves back. Let’s just think of Dorie in Finding Nemo: “Just keep swimming. Just keep swimming. Just keep swimming, swimming, swimming.” πŸ˜‰

  12. I said WOW! before I read a word of your post, just looking at your photo. When you said that you were out of practice, my jaw fell:) Those photos are gorgeous and I have no idea what you are talking about:) But welcome back!

  13. I’m glad you’re back; I’ve missed your lovely photos. You chose a good week to return – this salad was really great and perfect for spring.

    It’s important to take breaks and recharge your creativity. Have fun getting to know your camera again.

Leave a Reply

