Reboot

So many parts of my life are due for a serious reboot. My health. My photography and jewelry making. This blog.

As far as my health is concerned, I had every intention of getting on the right track last year after my breast cancer diagnosis. But after the third round of chemotherapy, I hit a wall. A big brick wall. Up until that point, I had been walking every day and eating really well. And then that wall. I didn’t even put up a fight.

Not long after the fourth (and final) round of chemo, I started six weeks of radiation, which brings with it increasing fatigue and stress. It would have been easier to cope with all of it if I had only kept walking. The exhaustion was more than I could handle.

After treatment, my trademark procrastination kicked in. Even when I was feeling better, I didn’t stay focused on exercising and eating well. I went through several starts and stops and never stayed dedicated. So here I am. Weighing more than I ever have in my life.

I decided that I need accountability to get back on track and stay on track. Even if that means going totally public during my journey. Totally public on a seldom-visited blog. Where I have disabled the feature that automatically pushes posts to Facebook. Hey. They’ll still push to Twitter. It’s a start.

I’m giving myself the same advice I would give to any other person in my situation: You can only move forward from here.

Wish me luck.

 

8 thoughts on “Reboot

  1. I need the same reboot. After my battle number 2 with breast cancer, it was a bit like fuck it, I’m going to do what I can, and want to do. Cruising along, I now weigh more than I ever have in my life. I move less and need to pay more attention to my diet. I have battled PCOS which does not make it any easier to lose weight, but I’m not helping.

    Last May, my team in New York was replaced by a group of 20 year olds in Romania. I got a severance package (after 16 years) and have been looking at jobs, but really don’t seem to have my normal self confidence. I’m working with my sister-in-law on starting a small retail project (think salvaged furniture meets funky artist.) I need to supplement the retail store with some other position, but have been kind of waffling about what field I want to pursue. Do I want to go back to school and get an RN degree, do I stay with training, or try to get back into retirement plans, the job I loved the most? Right now, it looks like, ‘Do you want fries with that?’

    So, I propose a kick ass re-boot team. Let’s support each other with great (hopefully simple) meal and work/creative ideas. I could use some (paid) creative consulting for signage and packaging design and jewelry pieces for our new store – Ann? We would also be held accountable to the team to kick our asses if we’re not moving. I just saw a cool core 15 minute workout – have I done it yet – no.

    If we want accountability; and I need someone to keep me in check right now, going public helps. What if everyone kicks in $10.00 a week for the next 10 weeks (truth or consequences.) We set up a goal or two, or one for each improvement area. If you meet your goal(s) that week, you keep your money. If not, you contribute it to the group pot. The group pot gets distributed out Dec 15th in time for Christmas? (Logistically we net everything out and make one payment in Dec.) Just a rambling thought from a fellow procrastinator.

    Tara

  2. Holy man, Tara. Two rounds plus PCOS (I just looked it up and read about it for the first time). That retail project sounds exciting, I have to say. And I LOVE the idea of a reboot team! Brilliant. Let’s get together to plan. Wait. Where are you these days? I forget …

  3. Cool, I’m on a little island between Tampa and Sarasota (Anna Maria Island.) After living in MN, NY and Boston, We’ve tossed the ice scraper and never looked back!
    We can do an online plan and share the document. I can put something together as a sample by the end of day Friday, and see if anyone else wants to join. I think we can share it on something easy like Google docs, or look at hosting it. I have a couple of word press web sites sitting out there with nothing on them (shocker, I think not.)
    Let’s talk about the shop next week, maybe Wednesday?

  4. I DO wish you luck! Thanks for sharing. It takes a lot of courage to bare your soul.

Leave a Reply

